Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Digitally controllable current source

Status
Not open for further replies.

sudiipta

Hi,

I want to build a current source to test my device. I want to vary current from -1 mAmp to +1 mAmp, in steps of 1 microAmp per second (i.e.2000 steps) and source these current to my device. As I want to vary the current every sec and record voltage at the same time, I want to do it using a computer. I am very new to analog circuit design and micro-controller based systems . Any suggestion will be appreciated.

With regards

Sudipta

Digital to Analog converters usually have a voltage output, and they are usually positive output only.

You need a 12 bit D2A (well you could use 11 bits but they don't exist) and that will output 0 - 5 V or 0 - 3 V. You then need an Op-Amp to convert that voltage to a controlled current.

Do you need the current to be to ground?

What is the maximum voltage of your test device?

Can you do it with a PC-controlled Data Aquisition Card such as the ones made by NI or Measurement Computing? If so, modifiying one of the DAC channels to deliver constant current is easy.

We do need to know the voltage in question.

Typically one measures the voltage across the device and the current through the device. One might use Kelvin connections for the DUT (device under test). This basically means that I+, V+ are connected to the same pad and I- and V- are connected to the other. This compensated for lead resistance.