Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

digital speedometer

Status
Not open for further replies.

navveed

hi,
i am new to PIC and dont know nothing about PIC so could you let me know how to use C-programming to programe PIC so as to convert the number of pulses to a unit of speed that is either Km/h or miles/h. these puses
Well the summary is somewhat like this, magnetic sensors to be used passing the pulses picked up from a rotating wheel and passing it to the counter and then finally to the display that is a seven segment display. In words it seems simple but I am confused in last part that is the display part. I have figured out what type of sensor to use, what type of counter to use and but the display will only show the number of pulses coming in but not the speed so is there any way that the pulses after being counted be converted in to a unit of speed either km/h or miles/h. well someone did suggested me to use PIC so if possible can you help me in this matter. Further more can you explain how will I be able to connect two 7-seg displays to show speed when it reaches above 9th integer.

If you have any suggestion for using a better sensor for counting the rotations of the wheel, please do mention. It should measure a bit high speed as it’s a car speedometer and should have a digital output. It should be a magnetic sensor using Halls effect.

thnkx

navveed@lycos.co.uk