Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Digital clock display driver question

Status
Not open for further replies.

jimg

I want to make a digital alarm clock just for fun.
All my electronics are self taught, so I am pitifully lacking in any solid theory background.
I have in mind a thin design with detachable base to store flat in my computer case while traveling.

The criteria are that it normally run off 120v AC, but keep good time while on battery backup in my suitcase.
Normal timing will be derived from the AC line, but from a clock crystal while on battery.
I want it to automatically adjust the brightness of the display to the ambient light level.
I need at least a 2 inch high led display to be able to read without my glasses at night.
I would like the battery backup to be either two AA cells or a 9V, possibly recharables normally kept on trickle while plugged in.

I was having trouble find something to use for the display when I realized I have a display from an old Radio Shack clock that should work. The attached image is an actual photo of the display with the plastic cover taken off, and the lines cleaned up so I could follow the circuit.
Each segment consists of two led's in series. The segments are connected in groups of two. Half to one ground, and half to another.

The original ran off a 12V transformer which I intend to repackage as a separate unit with short cord to a plug, and long cord to the clock.