digital camera information

Status
Not open for further replies.

muhammad108

Dear Sirs
I am a university student from shiraz-iran, My course is Electronic.
I am working on a project and need a camera, but I don't know which camera should I use.
please help me ... this camera should have these capabilities.

1: this camera should be able to distinguish colourful dots (especialy black), with minimum
0.2mm in diameter in a white surface.

2: manually setting focuse

3: I want to process it's image with camputer so, the images shouled transfer to computer
immidiately.

4: I want to use this camera to capture images from a raibon convayer which has 60 Cm width
and moves at 10 cm/s speed.

please help me.

Hi If I understand your question correctly, and all the numbers are correct, all I know is that it will be a very interesting design. Combining the requirements, you need a camera that will detect an object smaller than a pencil dot on paper, and travelling through the camera's veiwing range in 16 milliseconds.

You will need to be sampling still images - you won't see anything in a video feed.

Umm, maybe you could just use a video camera?? and connect it's video output to the computer, then record the output w/ the computer?? I'd think that a digital camera that can feed 10 frames a second to a computer would be kind of expensive.

zachtheterrible said:
Umm, maybe you could just use a video camera?? and connect it's video output to the computer, then record the output w/ the computer?? I'd think that a digital camera that can feed 10 frames a second to a computer would be kind of expensive.

zevon8 has already pointed out that a video camera wouldn't work at all, each object is only in range for 16mS, a single frame of video takes 20mS (for 625 line PAL) - plus the image is moving all that time so it would just be a blur.