Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Differential measuring on an analog scope (again)...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello to everybody!

I finally grabbed one used by good analog scope ;)! I'm not total newbie, I worked a lot with oscilloscope on my university, I thought I "know everything", but I missed one thing (fortunately, I RTFM before, just in case:eek:): differential measuring! I read anything I could find on this forum (and others), but still I'm unsure!
I know about methods of such a measuring, like "A-B" method, but for now I would like only to know one "simple" thing: Can I do measurements with normal probe with grounded scope on battery-powered circuits, OR circuits that work with main transformers (the "real" ones, not SMPS), e.g. some CD-player or so, without worries where I attach "ground crocodile" from probe?
In other words, can I measure e.g. voltage across some resistor, wherever it is placed, in devices described above, so I connect probe tip to one end of resistor and ground clip to the other end?
Of course, if I want to work with both channels, I must care about fact that both scope's inputs are tied together, I know that. Also, I do not intend to measure high voltages, or anything tied directly to main-plug! So my GND-clip on the probe would be possibly tied to the LOCAL GND of the circuit (like "minus" end of an battery).

Sorry if I ask stupid question!
TIA!