Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Designing sound reactive lighting, on a bigger scale

Status
Not open for further replies.

jcfor3ver

Hi I want to build sound reactive lighting for my band Ashes of Existence which would be used for our live show. I am an EE student at WWU (just in case you think I don't know about electronics)
I've researched a lot of good projects, but they are all on a small scale. I would like to build sound reactive lighting that would essentially 'flood' the stage with lights to our music. Our frequencies are very low end (drop A 7 string guitars for your musicians) but we do have high end melodic parts.
What I am getting at is, how would I build such a project?
I will contribute any knowledge I have to answers on my post.
What I am looking for is a design similar to these two youtube videos but on a much larger scale:
and

The first video offers a really cool lighting contrast with the flood light like led's on the left side and colored lights on the right side. But the second video goes in-depth about how to wire 3 different groups of led lights to music.
Help and discussion greatly appreciated!

Welcome to the forum.
Google 'color organ schematic' and you should find something to get you started. 'Bigger scale' would use the same or similar principles but involve more / more powerful lights and driver circuits.

Hi