Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Designing LED circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.
First of all, most of my electrical knowledge (and there isn't much of that!) to date has been self-taught from the Internet, so please bear with me.

I am attempting to create a circuit using the audio from a receiver to pulse LEDs. Eventually, it will be using RGB LEDs, with red on high frequencies and blue on low, and an old spare computer PSU (which has 12v, 5v, and 3.3v outputs) to power it all. For now, my testing setup is 2 white LEDs plus a 200 ohm resistor attached to a 9v battery and a transistor to the music (see attached schematic).
This current test works (the LEDs pulse with the music), however I have to turn the volume up uncomfortably loud for the low frequency LEDs to start blinking, and even louder for the high frequency ones to do so. I understand why it needs more power before the HF ones work, however I would like them to light at more normal volumes, and equalise the low and highs in terms of LED light.

When I first planned this project, I assumed the transistor+extra power would be enough, and maybe just use larger resistors for the low end than high, however now it seems like I will need to do more. I have read a bunch about Darlington pairs, however I don't seem to grasp how to efficiently make them work (since they have a doubled initial voltage?) without wasting a lot of power or burning out my transistors.

In case this is necessary for any help, what I have: