Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Designing a simplified chopper power supply

Status
Not open for further replies.

HandyMan

Hello everyone :)

I want to design a circuit. I'm a repairer of electronic goods but unfortunately I am not a circuit designer, not to the level whereby I can create a fairly complex circuit that works smoothly - my design tends to be a bit rough and ready.

Recently I've been repairing a good number of TFT monitors which operate on 12V DC supplies. Sometimes the monitors are supplied without the 12V chopper power supply adapters which means I have difficulty testing them as my benchtop power supply uses a standard mains transformer and a regulator connected to a pot which allows voltage control from 0 - 30V and the output current just isn't high enough despite the huge size of the transformer.

As I want the higher current but with the continued ability to alter the voltage level, I thought that a chopper power supply hooked up to a regulator would be better. I can use LM338T for voltage regulation.

I want to build the chopper power supply myself. I know a lot of people gawp at the thought because they are fairly complex circuits, but what about if a lot of the 'extras' in the circuit were removed, like the optocoupling and other perhaps unnecessary complexities.