Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Design help needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

andrej33

Brand new to your forum. Need help with a project. I am a musician and I am building a new rack for my synth gear. I need to save space and weight, so I would like to limit the transformers in my rack. I was thinking of having one 12 volt DC transformer power the top 4 and have a strip with + and - feeds on them and go to each device with the appropriate resistor and or voltage regulator on the feeds to step down the voltage. Am I thinking correctly? This is what I have in the rack:

Yamaha VL-70 Center Polarity + 12V DC 700 mA
Senheiser mic Center Polarity + 12V DC 300 mA
Roland JV-1010 Center Polarity - 9V DC 1000 mA
WIDI wireless Center Polarity + 5V DC Doesn’t say how many mA, but it also runs on 2 AA Batteries.

Alesis Nano Verb 5VA AC Obviously will need it's own transformer.

Would appreciate any suggestions.
Thanks!
Andre

Last edited:
Roland JV-1010 Center - 9V DC 1000 mA

That uses negative 9 volts?

Ron

Hi Ron,
No, the polarity of the device has negative at the center vs positive on all the other DC devices.

Last edited:
OK, I see what you are saying. You have a collection of wall warts (small transformers providing mostly DC voltages) to your devices. You would like to eliminate all the little units and have a single power supply deliver power to as many devices as possible.