Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Delay 16f88 assembly language

Status
Not open for further replies.

oualau

Hi all, I am new in this and definitely not good in this.

I have read a topic about this, but I am still not quite sure about the whole delay thing...
https://www.electro-tech-online.com/threads/tmr0-1-second-delay-help.27669/

I want to make a servo controller using 16f88.
there are few things that I would like to make sure of:
1. Is it possible to use external clock (I'm using 4MHz crystal oscillator) together with TMR0? I am planning to use TMR0 for delay purpose.
2. Since the maximum number to put into TMR0 is 256, what should I do if I want to make a delay of 1 hour?

If it is possible, please give me an example or two of simple delay program.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Regards.

Hi,

1. Is it possible to use external clock (I'm using 4MHz crystal oscillator) together with TMR0? I am planning to use TMR0 for delay purpose.

Why bother using a crystal when the chips got a perfectly good internal oscillator ?
Some people say its not very accurate but you are talking tiny amounts.

2. Since the maximum number to put into TMR0 is 256, what should I do if I want to make a delay of 1 hour?

You do not say if your program will be doing other stuff for the hours delay, but for such a long period you are amost talking about a Real Time Clock.See the 88s datasheet Timer1 for details.

hi everyone, thanks for the reply.