Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Decoding TV Remote Control "Language"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Menticol

Hello guys

I'm trying to decode the different patterns of a standard TV remote control on my computer. I know that these USB remote control gadgets are already sold on the market, I'm working on this project just for the sake of knowledge.

Given that I have zero experience with micro controllers I worked with what I had in hand. I scrapped an IR receiver module from a stereo, connected it to a 2N3906 transistor and then to a Optocoupler. The optocoupler then bypasses one of the switches on a USB joystick, and the computer reads the input every time the remote control is pressed.

IMG_2042.JPG IMG_2134.JPG IMG_2135.JPG

The circuit somehow works, as reported by the software included with windows.
IMG_2126.JPG

Now I'm in the quest of decoding different remote control buttons, and for that I'm making a small Visual basic 6 application. But I'm stuck in this point!

At first I had the impression that Visual Basic could not understand events happening faster than 1 millisecons. But the existence of this parallel port "oscilloscope" program proves that is not a limitation. (Off topic: I tested that very same oscilloscope trying to understand the IR signal but it didn't worked)

IMG_2186.JPG

My question is, can the joystick button interface provide the required response speed? Do you know about a piece of code that can understand these pulse sequences?