Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Damage to flex / cables

Status
Not open for further replies.

fingaz

Hi all,

I am absolutely fed up with telling people at work not to wrap the cables too tightly on on some of our equipment (I work in a hospital, so I work mostly with women). Some of these leads / cables are around about £250 each!

Does anyone know if any research had been done looking at damage caused by bending, stretching or wrapping cables / wires.

If I can show them some evidence of the damage being caused I think would be better able to 'discourage' staff from potentially causing damage to equipment.

Any help will be appreciated.

EDIT : I have tried googling, but all I got was a load of rubbish about cable ties (tie wraps)

Last edited:
Hi all,

I am absolutely fed up with telling people at work not to wrap the cables too tightly on on some of our equipment (I work in a hospital, so I work mostly with women). Some of these leads / cables are around about £250 each!

Does anyone know if any research had been done looking at damage caused by bending, stretching or wrapping cables / wires.

If I can show them some evidence of the damage being caused I think would be better able to 'discourage' staff from potentially causing damage to equipment.

Any help will be appreciated.

EDIT : I have tried googling, but all I got was a load of rubbish about cable ties (tie wraps)