Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Current Voltage And Magnetic Relay Behavior

Status
Not open for further replies.

jimmyboy

I am still new to electronics and learning the basics of inductors and decided to toy with an assortment of small relays a rheostat and a multimeter to see what kind of current draw each relay has.

The two relays I was interested in was a small 5v and an a larger 9v relay (both normally open) - I noticed that the smaller one drew 120ma at 5v and the larger 24ma at 9v when each closed. If you adjust the pot the relays open and close pretty fast when you raise and drop the voltage/resistance - I decided to take a smaller resistance linear pot and try fine adjusting the resistance to see what would happen.

It seems that the voltage where the relays turn on is fixed but after they have tripped raising the resistance very slowly you can drop the 5v relay down 2v before it falls back and the 9v down to 3v before it returns to its original position - is this related to the fact that inductors resist change?

I always thought that only applied to fast changing voltages like AC at 60hz this is a way slower change - if I am dropping the voltage and the current (I put the meter in series as an ammeter as well with both relays to check) how is the magnetic field staying the same? maybe this has to do with the multimeter? I have tried this with an AC adapter and batteries - same result - any ideas?

Thanks