Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Current Injection

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dfektv

Hello,

I'm new to electronics. I have what seems a silly question to you guys.

With respect to the picture attached, how would I inject, say, another amp through the resistors indicated by the additional power supply, whilst maintaining a voltage rise accross them as though there was no additional power supply (i.e. 4V)?

Would I need to reduce the resistance in this section by 1/3 and apply 4V at the additional supply? Or, must the additional supply be greater than 4V by a value proportional to the increase in current (with respect to the resistance)?

If the resistors in this section must be changed, how will it affect the current supplied from the 12V source?

Could I please get some basic calculated figures for this example?

Thanks in advance

Attachments

• Injection cct.JPG
    Injection cct.JPG
    7.5 KB · Views: 135
I'll take a wild stab at this.

If the additional power supply is set to 4V, then there would be no change in the resistor voltages or current, and no current would be drawn from the additional supply.

Sorry about the lack of clarity of the question. crutschow - would that mean that if I wanted to pass an additional 1 amp through the 2 resistors, the additional supply would have to be 6V?