Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

CRO Balanced Preamplifier

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nick D

Gday folks!
I was looking for some help on the net and came accross this forum, and am now a new member. Anyways, I'm studying engineering at uni and we have a project where we must build a preamplifier (balanced) to add high sensitivity ranges to a CRO. The input impedence must be >1k and must be able to drive a 100 Ohm load.

My plan is to cascade a 'cascode differential pair' (ie balanced input), with 20 dB gain, with a simple transistor combination to make up the final 20 dB (100 V/V is the requirement).

Now, I have the cascode pair running well, ie required bandwidth and gain, but I've run into trouble with my second stage. I've tried using a simple common emitter, but i can't seem to get it to give me 10V/V, even after applying the appropriate formula's.

I was wondering if there were any suggestions as to what type of second stage amp to use, whether a feedback pair or even something simpler. I wish to use only npn type transistors, preferrably BC548's as they supposedly work up to 300MHz (my required bandwidth is 40Hz to 15MHz).

Some assistance would be greatly appreciated

:confused: Nick D

Nick D said:
Gday folks!