Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Creating Complex Camera Trigger

Status
Not open for further replies.

Drew Fulton

Greetings,

I am a professional wildlife photographer looking to do some remote tripwire photography and create my own device. I know there are commercial products out there but I am hoping to save some money, customize the device, and learn more about electronics.

I have a background with basic physics and understanding of electronics from a high school classroom position but less of a realword experience. I would appreciate any help or even comments about the feasability of my project.

I am outlining a very complex device here with lots of options. The basics I need are a single laser or option for two lasers in paralell that when broken, a camera is fired. In addition, when the laser circuit is broken, the lasers must be turned off until the system is reset to prevent a red dot from showing up in the photographs. The delays and multiple camera attachments are not as important but if I can include them it will make the device much more useful. Additionally, the entire device including lasers (not cameras or flashes) must be powered by a battery of some sort, 12V will work if necessary.

COMPLETE PROJECT DESCRIPTION:

TERMINOLOGY:

Trigger - To fire either camera or flashes
System Reset - When system is prepared for another trigger. Turn on lasers, prepare camera(s) or strobe(s).

REQUIREMENTS:

1) I need a laser beam that when broken provides a trigger.