Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Creating a sound-activated electromagnet

Status
Not open for further replies.

ajsparx

Hey everyone, first off, I am NEW to circuitry designing (but I understand all of the equations, units, etc), and so I'm at a loss right now. I'm making a sound-activated electromagnet for my end of semester inorganic chemistry project (so that I can make ferrofluid dance to music, or sounds), but I need help figuring out how to make a sound sensor that lets a current pass when it hears a noise. Perhaps I could integrate a voltage regulator in as well, to let more current pass for louder noises, and less for quieter sounds... what do you think?

Also, if you have any suggestions regarding how to make a strong, yet responsive electromagnet, I'm all ears. I have access to a pure iron rod, but I was wondering about wire-wrapping "etiquette:" number of wraps, gauge of wire, how to start a new layer of wraps, etc.

you could use an audio amplifier to drive your electromagnet, but i would suggest using a ferrite bar rather than an iron bar. the iron bar will generate a lot of heat because of eddy currents in the iron.

Magnetic laser printer toner fluid?!

Laser printer toner isn't magnetic, it's plastic and carbon based generally, so I'm a little confused about your intended ferrorfluid makeup.