Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Creating a device to measure the activity levels of slow-walking people

Status
Not open for further replies.

jesseto

Hi,

I was wondering if I could get some advice about where to start with creating a device to measure activity levels of slow-walking people.

I would like to use an Arduino microcontroller (I've never used one before) along with a triaxial accelerometer (+/- 2 G would probably be good, with pretty high precision because I need to measure the slow walking accelerations accurately). In addition, I would like to have an external memory (such as an SD card) and wireless transmission of data so I can transmit the raw accelerations to a PC. I am also looking to add in a gyrosensor to sense incline of a lower/upper limb and a gps to track location. Finally, I would like to add in an LCD display to display relevant information to a user.

So far, I've heard using an Xbee would be good for wireless transmission of data, but I don't know too much about anything else. I've programmed a different microcontroller before in C along with an LCD display, so I think learning to program an Arduino would be pretty simple.