Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Creating a circuit for turn signals on a vehicle

Status
Not open for further replies.

iamsuperbleeder

Hello everyone!

I'm just getting into circuit designing and PCB layout and construction. That said, I've been doing my homework, but still would like a little input on my project :D

I'm working on adding additional LEDs on the side mirrors of my truck, that will act as running lights and turn signals. Originally I was just going to use a very simple circuit with resisters and diodes and make the LED's light dimly with the running lights, and full brightness with the turn signals. However, I've been looking at another option which, if done right, will make them be lit at full brightness with the running lights on, and then when the turn signals flash when the running lights are on, the LEDs will flash in an alternating pattern that the turn signals on the truck do. When the running lights are NOT on, they will simply flash at full brightness along with the turn signals on the truck.

It's kind of hard to explain, so I made a simple animation that does exactly what I want to circuit to do:

**broken link removed**

Using a logic gate simulator, I was able to get this to work perfectly, using XOR gates. So upon research, I've found the 7486 IC is what I can use in my circuit for the XOR gates (only two gates are needed in my current design).