Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

creating 5v reference voltage for usb bus detection

Status
Not open for further replies.

somespirit

heya- i have an application where i have two custom usb devices- a host and a device. i am self-taught, so apologies if my terminology is flawed.

the usb device attaches to the usb host via 3 pins (d+, d-, gnd) of an 8 pin connector, and works great. both devices are self-powered.

however- currently, in my usb device, i am using a resistor (from Vcc) to give 5v to the microcontroller's usb bus-detection pin, because i don't have access to the usb interface 5v line to truly detect bus, and i don't have the capability of adding an extra pin for the 5v.

my question is whether it is possible to generate a reference voltage from the two usb data lines?

i wondered whether i could create a parasitic voltage, for example a schottky diode from each usb data line, into a cap, then to the bus pin? would this work, since all it has to do is keep the microcontroller input capacitor full? is there a better way?

thanks!

You have access to the d+ d- and gnd lines but NOT +vcc? That doesn't make sense, what kind of weird setup are you using that doesn't have access to the 5V line, it's free power you should be using it not separate power supply unless your circuit uses a lot of power. Even then you should still have wired the circuit to the +5V line of the USB host, for detection as you're finding this problem now..