Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Counter using 74LS90 and 74LS47

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yet another link on the 74ls90

Just wanted to add a note here in case anybody else come across the need in playing around with 74LS90 circuits:

**broken link removed**

Gives examples of setting up divide-by-10 counters and divide-by-6 counters to create a digital clock.

multisim project

Okay i'm kind of new at this and I'm using multisim7. For my project I need some sort of timing device. After 5 sec, I need ouputs to change. Then after 23 sec, I need outputs to change again. Then after 25 seconds I need those outputs to change once more. I imagine I'll use a counter, but I'm really not sure how I go about making a truth table or hooking up multiple counters. I think counters like the 74192 or 7490 or 74161 could be used?? Can anyone help me out??? I'm kind of....clueless and I'd appreciate any help. Oh and I can only usre 74xxx series ICs.

Thanks.

The circuit needs 2 additions.

1. Switch on reset so it starts at 0

2. a 100 nF bypass capacitor across the counter supply pins. Strange results can occur otherwise

Len

74ls47 have open collector outputs, chances are your simulation software includes this in its models as well. This means you should tie them high using 1K pull up resistors and then use inverters between the 7447 output to your 7 seg display. Try it.

Counter doesn't work.