Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

counter emf

Status
Not open for further replies.

jin29_neci

thanks guys for all the help!!! im still studying doing my best to become a professional electronic technician someday.. thanks

my question is how counter emf occurs?

post pls. thanks

You mean how an coil makes that high voltage spike?

This hapends wen you sudenly stop the curent trough an coil.Some of the energy was sotred as an magnetic field around the coil.This field then colapses and is converted back in to eletrcety.This creates an high voltage spike.

This is why there are diodes on releys.If the didode wasent there the voltage spike cod destroy or reduce the liftime of the conected components.

This is also why DC motors make a lot electrical noise in the power suply(Thats why you somtimes see ceramic capacitors on the motors conectors)

jin29_neci said:
thanks guys for all the help!!! im still studying doing my best to become a professional electronic technician someday.. thanks

my question is how counter emf occurs?

post pls. thanks

The voltage across an inductance is v = L di/dt where di/dt is the rate of change of current in the coil. So if the circuit is opened, the current falls rapidly thus creating a high voltage - the back emf or counter emf.

Len

ljcox said:
The voltage across an inductance is v = L di/dt where di/dt is the rate of change of current in the coil.

To be completely correct the expression is v = - L di/dt.