Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Count Down Timer

Status
Not open for further replies.

RetiredHAL

Hi, I would like some ideas as to how to go about this project. If possible I would like to not use a PIC as I am not experienced in PIC.
This timer would be used for boiling eggs, timing scrabble moves, and generally as a 12 hour countdown timer, but capable to accurately count down in 10 sec intervals. I can do the timer generation, count down part and display part , but I am having problems setting the time in an easy manner. I would like to mount the components behind perspex to show off the workings. Yes I know I can buy one for $20.00 but that is not the point. I would like to make this a piece of art to show my grandchildren what ICS are capable of. In another 10 years they will not know what CMOS is.
I would like to use Decadic Rotary switches to set 1H.MM.S0. I would like to use Cmos for power considerations. There is a 40147 IC that would readily translate the switch setting to BCD, but they are hard to source. Can you think of other methods to translate a Decadic switch position to BCD, other than a discrete diode matrix? I would like to use Rotary switches for the "Retro" effect and also for ease of use.
I have been all over this forum and have seen some beautiful clocks but not countdown timers.

Cheers RetiredHal

RetiredHAL,