Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Could this be a Full wave problem?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tallan

Hello,

I'm really new to this so it might be simple for some of you.
Well here is my problem I am soldering up the project described here
https://www.electro-tech-online.com/attachments/chaser-gif.57/

I used a prebuilt Full wave rectifier and got the voltage down to about 7.5 and I have the 555 chip in place with the resistors and caps all set. I hook MY DC power supply to the part and everything works great at 6VDC and 9VDC.

When I supply the 110 AC I get about 6.5 - 7VDC but I lose the pulse I was getting from the 555 chip and the variable resistor regulates voltage rather then the pulse rate on pin 3 of the chip. I'm sure I have overlooked something but I have not figured that out yet. I'm sure I will learn from it though ;-)

Any direction you can give me would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Ted

Last edited:
I hook MY DC power supply to the part and everything works great at 6VDC and 9VDC.
The 555 circuit without the transformer+rectifier?

When I supply the 110 AC I get about 6.5 - 7VDC but I lose the pulse I was getting from the 555 chip and the variable resistor regulates voltage rather then the pulse rate on pin 3 of the chip.

What do you mean by this? Pin 3 becomes a constant voltage and the potentiometer adjusts that voltage? Or there is some kind of waveform there that does not change but the potentiometer adjusts it's magnitude? What exactly?