Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Could someone help me?

Status
Not open for further replies.

liqi0003

Hello, everyone, this is my first time to visit this forum. I am a Mechanical Engeering student, now, I have some problems about a circuit.

I am doing a class assignment, actually it is a project. There is one part need me to design a circuit that change the unstable AC input to be stable DC output.

In fact, I am using a batteryless bicycle light system as the dynamo, (**broken link removed**) when the dynamo friction with the tyre, it will generator some power, my generator is 12V(max), 6W(max). I want to use this power to charge batteries. But the output depend on the speed of the bicycle, so it is unstable. That is why I want to design a circuit to convert it to a stable voltage.

About the dynamo, you can get some basic knowing in this website (**broken link removed**)

I think the most confusing part about my question is the range of the voltage. After I have done some testing, I found most of the time , the output of the dynamo is about 5V to 9V.Can I change the circuit input range to 5V-9V. Because speed is the dominant factor affecting the output. I cannot stablize it. Could someone give me some idea about how to limit the output voltage,i.e. if my output of the dynamo is 5V to 9V, using what circuit can change the output to be 5V(no matter AC or DC)

I hope someone here can help me to design the whole circuit or give me some advise.

Thank you very much!:) :)