Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

controll ing dc motor need help

Status
Not open for further replies.

norms09

i am an undergrad student and im having my thesis project entitled "voltage and speed contol of induction generator" i have a coupled machine a dc motor and an induction motor. the dc motor acts as the pimover of my induction motor to turn it into a generator by speeding up the dc motor and operating the IM speed above its rated speed. now the pobelm is when i connected a load in the generator side the voltage drops and also the speed when certain number of loads were connected the generator stops generating voltage. i am thinking of controlling the dc motor so i can have a constant voltage produced by the generator. is there any possible things to do it? i am using a control system in my pc so that it will automatically command a certain ckt connected to the PM to change its speed or voltage. any help or suggestions? by the way i am using microcontollers in detecting the voltage change in the generator side. my pime mover has an 220V ac supply and 180V dc rating, which is i think difficult to control since base from my searches in the net most of the control circuits can only control dc motos up to 12V...

any help o suggestion will be deeply appriciated. thank you very much...

DC motor speed controllers use Pulse-Width-Modulation. The width of the pulses controls the speed. Your pc might be able to produce the PWM.