Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

control 240 rgb LEDs individually with a PC

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all, my 1st post here so I hope you can help.

Ok I am a noob to all this although I did take electronics at school and I can solder etc... I also had an introduction to C++ and Java at Uni

THE IDEA
- Create a matrix of LEDs (48 columns x 5 rows)
- Use a PC to control each individual LED
- Power from a 12v DC car battery
- Eventually code some colourful light displays
This may be a unique installation as I will be putting these LEDs under the front grill of my 1978 VW Campervan! This already has an onboard windows computer.

So I am not sure where to begin and I dont want to waste my time and money. By googling I see I might need an Ardunio board and a PWD or possible I read something about shift registers...

Can anyone help me get this project designed?

I will be very greatful and I will post pics once it is complete!!!

Thanks for any help

Gary

also I meant to say, yes Ihave looked through the forum but I cant find any generic 'how tos' all seem specific to peoples problems... as you would expect!

If I'm not mistaken there is an ethernet solution up to the challenge, using a Wiznet and Propeller chip. The project is up on one of the Xmas forums. The WS2801 is also talked about extensively over there, including premade rgb led strings from China.