Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Connecting LED

Status
Not open for further replies.

josey_matt

hi,
i am a noob and was wonderin how i would go about connecting about 100 LED's together either series or parallel. i am using "AA" batteries to light the LED's. i am putting this tring of LED's around pictures.

thanks much

Hi
I think if you connected the 100 Led in series you may need a power supply outputting around 200 volt Dc and this is hard
so i suggest to connect them in parallel you may need a power supply with about 2 volt
but take in account the proper amper

You shouldn't connect LEDs in parallel, as each may have a different voltage so will end up with different currents in each.

You should connect the LEDs in groups of about 5 in series. Each group needs a resistor to limit the current. Then you have as many group (each with its resistor) in parallel as you need.

hi,
i am a noob and was wonderin how i would go about connecting about 100 LED's together either series or parallel. i am using "AA" batteries to light the LED's. i am putting this tring of LED's around pictures.

thanks much

What are the specs on your LEDs?
The tradeoff is to have as many in series as you can and still get a relatively narrow tolerance on your expected LED current while being fed from a voltage source, since you probably will not be feeding them from a constant current source.