Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

connecting an optical liquid level sensor

Status
Not open for further replies.

davidnprop

I have a prodject that requires a level of fuel to be maintained. Yet the chamber is to small for a float. As I was looking for something I came across an optical liquid sensor (www.fluidswitch.com). My knowlege of electronics is VERY BASIC. Electrition by trade we don't get that much traning in it. I've got model# OS-900B-12-0 and also a OMRON solidstate relay for a load. When the level is low the sensor pulls in the relay yet it never shuts off. If I pulse the power to the sensor as the level comes down it shuts off at the proper level.The relay is a G3PB-215B-VD the only info I have on it is that it's DC 12-24v and draws 7ma. I've tried putting R in series with the load and I get up to 4.61K and after that it just shuts down and it still operates the same. I've hopefully attached the info I have with the sensor. Thanks in advance, I know I'm over my head with this one!

DavidnProp

Attachments

• opsensor.jpg
    opsensor.jpg
    127.2 KB · Views: 235
Last edited by a moderator:
It will never work by connecting both directly together.
Your sensor is an open collector output (sink current when dry, max 40mA).
Your relay needs 12 tot 24 V to operate.

You need something in between sensor and relay...

I suggest that you try both seperatly first so that you get familiar with both systems.