Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Confused about simple electrical safety concept (pics)

Status
Not open for further replies.

chson

Hello, newbie here with newbie question:

Why is the man in the 1st picture shocked while in the 2nd he is not? I'm assuming the current is traveling counter-clockwise so the only difference between the two pictures is that the man is standing either before or after the resistor. Why does his position in the circuit matter in regards to getting shocked?

Attachments

• 1_131.jpg
    1_131.jpg
    17.7 KB · Views: 1,218
  • 2_836.jpg
    2_836.jpg
    15.6 KB · Views: 1,253
chson said:
Hello, newbie here with newbie question:

Why is the man in the 1st picture shocked while in the 2nd he is not? I'm assuming the current is traveling counter-clockwise so the only difference between the two pictures is that the man is standing either before or after the resistor. Why does his position in the circuit matter in regards to getting shocked?

Your diagram already explains it perfectly, in the second case the man is connected across the supply - so he gets a shock. In the first case he isn't connected across the supply, so he can't get a shock.

Try getting a battery and a small bulb!.

Connect the leads from the bulb to each end of the battery, the bulb lights up - picture 2.

Now connect both wires from the bulb to the SAME end of the battery, the bulb doesn't light - picture 1.

Exactly the same as your diagram.