Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Complete NOOB - needs startup advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

SystemFX

Hello all,

Changing my interests....

I am completely new, but not inexperienced...I have some basic knowledge in digital electronics, etc.

I am very interested in electronics and can't wait to get started. I am very technically oriented, as I have been a software developer up until now, going on 12 some years now. But now i feel a need to go into electronics (on a hobbyist level).

I want to get started in Electronics. I am very interested in Programmable interfaces....for electronics.

Need some experienced advice, thats alll....

Just want to know what would make a good start in the way of equipment. have Oscilloscope and voltage meters, but I want to know about bread boards , where to get them, how big, all the basic stuff, ...

What exactly would be a good start point for me? a complete electro noob!

Be nice now :))

I'd suggest looking at a couple of basic electronics textbooks just to get a sense of what you might already understand. A book that I like is Paul Scherz "Practical Electronics for Inventors" Take a look at the very basic beginner's electronics books that are offered - usually some explanation and some simple projects. Radio Shack used to sell some. While they may seem awfully basic - if you can't construct the stuff in there and get it working reliably then that might be a place to begin.