Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Complete noob help. Switch to turn on motor and turn off by itself.

Status
Not open for further replies.

guyandho

I am a complete newbie at electronics. So please bear with me.

I would like to create a switch that will turn on a small motor (only needs 1.5-3V DC). I would like to turn on this motor, and after it runs for a certain time, or after something moves for a certain distance, the motor will turn off, or the switch will turn off.

Does anyone have ideas on how to do this?

Basically, the motor will be attached to a pulley, which will pull open a tiny curtain to a picture frame. I am doing this as a Christmas present.

Thank you for any advice you have. :)

I am a complete newbie at electronics. So please bear with me.

I would like to create a switch that will turn on a small motor (only needs 1.5-3V DC). I would like to turn on this motor, and after it runs for a certain time, or after something moves for a certain distance, the motor will turn off, or the switch will turn off.

Does anyone have ideas on how to do this?

Basically, the motor will be attached to a pulley, which will pull open a tiny curtain to a picture frame. I am doing this as a Christmas present.

Thank you for any advice you have. :)

Welcome to Electro-tech-online, guyandho!