Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Complete newbie needs a little advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

ectech

This is my first circuit board that I am attempting to build and need a little help. Not exactly sure what is going on but maybe one of you guys could give some input. I am attaching the electrical diagram I am using. Everything thing seems to be working fine besides one thing. When I hook the positive and negative to my 12v supply D1 lights up and D2 blinks every 3.3 seconds and should have an output of 0V-.09V. When I put the positive side of my volt meter on the output and the negative side of the volt meter on my negative post I get nothing. The only time I get any reading is if I touch the negative side of the volt meter with the opposite hand I am holding the output wire on the positive side of the volt meter. Doesn't make sense to me since I have a blinking LED but a reading of 0 on my volt meter. This project is being used for an oxygen sensor simulator.
Here are the component values.
R1 100 K Ohm
R2 1 M Ohm
R3 100 K Ohm
R4 10 K Ohm
C1 4.7 uF
C2 22 uF
D1 1.7v@20mA LED
D2 1.7v@20mA LED
Any suggestions asap would be very much appreciated.
Thank You
**broken link removed**

You will only have an output when the light blinks. Your voltmeter is likely too slow to read the short pulse of the blink. You need an oscilloscope to observe the pulse.