Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Comparator/IC Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

tom86951

I am hoping for help to design a simple circuit. I am not an engineer, so bear with me.

The circuit has two inputs. The first is a 0-5vdc sensor, and the second is a switch that toggles between +5vdc and ground. When the switch is set to 5vdc, I want the circuit to act as a straight voltage follower for the full 0 to 5vdc sensor range When the switch is set to ground, I want the circuit to act a voltage follower up to 1vdc, with any sensor signal over 1vdc creating a 1vdc output from the circuit. I'm hoping there is a single chip that can be used to do this? Suggestions/tips?

tom86951 said:
I am hoping for help to design a simple circuit. I am not an engineer, so bear with me.

The circuit has two inputs. The first is a 0-5vdc sensor, and the second is a switch that toggles between +5vdc and ground. When the switch is set to 5vdc, I want the circuit to act as a straight voltage follower for the full 0 to 5vdc sensor range When the switch is set to ground, I want the circuit to act a voltage follower up to 1vdc, with any sensor signal over 1vdc creating a 1vdc output from the circuit. I'm hoping there is a single chip that can be used to do this? Suggestions/tips?

hi,
Get the datasheet for a dual LM393 or LM311 type comparator, it shows a number of example circuits.
Try:
www.datasheetarchive.com

Your requirements aren't very clear.