Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

comparator for current

Status
Not open for further replies.

georgetwo

Hi
im new to pic programming, I have done some practice with comparators. I want to know if it is possible to write a program for over-load or high current indication on pic16f628.
how can I code that? Do i need n external cct?

One more thing, how do i set an oscillator for 50Hz forever?

Thank You

Comparing a current is typically done with a current sense resistor. A VERY low value resistor that develops only a slight voltage, often fed through an amplifier into a voltage comparator. The voltage is directly proportional to the current in the sense resistor as long as the power is very low in relation to the size of the sense resistor. Suggestions on how to make a circuit that would work for you would require information about the amount of current you need to source, and at what voltage. There's a big difference on how you value a sense resistor and circuitry for 1ma 10ma, 100ma, 1amp, 10amps, 100amps etc... Purchasing appropriate shunts and having them calibratied can allow you to measure any practical current level.

Last edited:
Thank you very mush for that idea,
I want to measure the dc load on 12V,200AH
I tried googling current sensors and i saw some ring-like sensors, and some chips, which one will be best 4 me?
Is it possible to make one?