Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Communication between one PIC and many PICs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Futterama

Hi there,

I have a project where one master PIC needs to communicate with many (5-10pcs) slave PICs. The master PIC will be placed around 1 meter from the first slave PIC and the slave PICs will be spaced with 1 meter each in a straight line.

I need ready made cables and connectors and found 1 meter RJ-45 network cable to be pretty cheap along with plastic RJ-45 connectors.

What would be a good choice for communication?

My thoughts are:

1. Could I connect the slave PICs to the cable and just "sniff" the data (is that what they call multidrop bus?) or should I use daisy chaining? Would I need some kind of termination if not using daisy chaining?
2. Could I connect the PIC USARTs directly through the cable or should I use tranceivers (RS-232 or RS-485) even on these short distances?

Speed requirements: The master needs to poll all the slaves in turn and should be able to poll 10 slaves in 10ms. Polling is just asking for data (maybe just a 1 byte address) and the slaves would respond with 4 bytes data.

Reliability and pricing is important, I guess reliability could be secured using checksum for the data and cheap transceivers or even no transceivers would keep price down.

The PIC device has not been selected yet, so I'm open for suggestions.