Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

coil

Status
Not open for further replies.

yasir_ali

Hey! every one.
I am newbie and even new to Electronics. These days i am studying Inductors. so i have read all the theory today morning. after reading the theory i was believing that there would be no magnetic field around coil, if i connect it to the D.C power supply. but when i just did that, the iron nail (used as core in coil) became magnetized. i am not understanding why the coil creates magnetic field with D.C supply? what i was think is that, with D.C supply at first, there would be some inductance as the current grows up. but when current reaches to its steady state and becomes constant then there would be NO Inductance so NO magnetic field should be there But..........
So please can some one make me understand this.

thanks

Who told it I forgot actually. The primary theorem behind an electric motor is:

" There will be a magnetic field associated with a conductor which has an electricity flowing through it regardless of AC or DC.." -something like that I re-arranged as my theorem :)

If you consider a wire carrying DC through it, it has a magnetic field surrounding it...so the iron nail having a number of turns of wire around it -has a sum of all these magnetic fields -if you increase the turns, you'll increase the magnetic effect, also increase the current to achieve the same.

Hey! every one.