Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

clarification with TRIAC and opti-couplers for A/C circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

peppy2day

Hello I am working on a few hobby electronic projects... My background is in software development, but I have taken a few electronics & hardware courses as part of my Computer Science degree.

I am working on a circuit to switch a/c from a low voltage (dc) logic circuit. I have already built a parallel interface board with led indicators as well as appropriate control/timer software that controls each output line (on or off). It's been working fine with LED's at the end of each line. That was my first step, and now it's time to make each output line switch an a/c source. I am just trying to get a grasp on the basics on how to control the flow/switching of a/c current.

My initial research pointed towards using a solid state relays. But then after reading a bit more, it seemed to be that I could use an TRIAC and triac driver (moc303. I read through several schematics and figured it would be easy enough to implement, so I ordered the parts:

my triac: http://search.digikey.com/scripts/D...g=en&site=ca&keywords=MAC15SMGOS-ND&x=21&y=17

my opto-coupler: http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?lang=en&site=CA&KeyWords=160-1722-5-ND&x=0&y=0