Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Clarification Required on How Speaker Works

Status
Not open for further replies.

thirumalai_pm

Hi,

I am new to Eletronics. This is very simple question, but sorry I am trying to understand the basic concept.

I am reading an article in Howstuffworks "How Speakers Work",

where I got to know that the sound in speaker is generate from the diaphragm by making electromagnet on the

permanent magnet and altering the orientation of the poles of electromagnet which comes from stereo system.

I got one query is : We can make the electromagnet by using a coated coil. So Instead of using permanent magnet I wish to create electromagnet using electric current (not from stereo) so it will create magnet force (like permanent magnet) with north, south orientation of pole, then I can connect stereo wire to voice coil will change the pole as per stereo current. So it will disturb the diaphragm to make the voice.

So can concept work well in speaker, if so we can avoid using the permanent magnet. Can you also please let me know why all speakers are using permanent magnet if we are able to create electromagnet.

Many Thanks, Thirumalai

So can concept work well in speaker, if so we can avoid using the permanent magnet. Can you also please let me know why all speakers are using permanent magnet if we are able to create electromagnet.

Many Thanks, Thirumalai