Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

choosing wire sizes

Status
Not open for further replies.

mr peanut

I know know this is a stupid beginner question, but I'm a stupid beginner.

I have always understood conductor sizing to be a function of power requirements. I have done considerable searching and have found no specs for wire sizes in terms of watts. They are all amps. It seems to me that a wire conducting 1 amp at 1 volt is less likey to overheat than one conducting 1 amp at 600 volts. Am I wrong about this?

Where can I find guidelines for choosing wires (eg AWG 18, 24,28, etc.) in terms of expected power loads?:confused:

Hi,

To go a little farther, if you do want to spec wire in terms of wattage then
you have to specify the operating voltage such as 12v, 120v, 240v, etc.
You can then divide the power (watts) by the voltage and get the required
amps, then look up a wire that can do the amps.

For example, say you have 1200 watt heater, and your home voltage is
120vac. Divide 1200 by 120 and we get 10 amps, so we look up a wire that
can handle 10 amps, at least. 15 amps even better.
On the other hand if your heater is 1200 watts and your home voltage is
240vac then divide 1200 by 240 and we get 5 amps, so you would then
need a wire that can handle at least 5 amps (10 amps even better).

You can always go higher in amp rating too, as long as you dont mind
the heavier wire.

Hi,

To go a little farther, if you do want to spec wire in terms of wattage then