Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Choosing a PIC for my project...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beef41

Sorry to burst onto the scene and ask for a favor from you good folks, but I am overwhelmed with information on PICs. That and I have trouble choosing what type of jelly to put with my peanutbutter, much less something hard like this... {grin}

So I was looking at all the PICs that Microchip has to offer, and I'm lost. I have programmed the MC68HC11, but I've never worked with a PIC before. I've heard that all newbies should start with the 16F84A, but I don't know if that will work for my project.

I am building a voice controlled wheelchair for quadrapalegics. The voice recognition chip has 9 output pins. I will be only using 5 of those pins... for the time being, anway. That will be the input side of the PIC. The PIC will control the left and right side motors, through some control circuitry. The control circuit needs one PWM {Pulse Width Modulation} line and one control line per motor. The code for the PIC should be rather simple. I hope it will be, anyway.

So totalling that all up I have:
5-9 inputs
2 PWM outputs
2 control line outputs
? unknown inputs/outputs*
Simple code

*The unknowns are probably nothing, but as with any project, there is always something that you've missed on the first glance... and I tend to miss a lot.