Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Choosing a microcontroller

Status
Not open for further replies.

tyco

Hello,

I'm relatively new to microcontrollers and I have read through the "Newcomers, please read! (PIC regarded) Upd. 0xC" but I don't think it completely answers my question.

I have written some C code I would like to run on a microcontroller for a prototype. It is pretty simple code (requires floats) and the microcontroller would only need to receive input from a digital scale, a single sensor, and a few input buttons. The microcontroller also needs to output to a small LCD.

The problem is that I'm not even sure what family of microcontrollers I should be looking into (68HC11, 68HC12, PIC, 8051, etc). Any recommendations for a first-time development kit?

My computer does not have a serial port, so a USB programmer would probably be required. Also, I can rewrite the code in Assembly if necessary, although I would prefer not to.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks!

Floating point operations are slow, so you may prefer a high frequency crystal (and a micro controller that can be operated with high speed oscillators).
You can find free light versions of C compilers for micro controllers on the web, but your code may grow beyond the allowed size?
How many inputs do you need exactly?

At most, I should need about 10 inputs and then the LCD output.

Most of the variables in my program are floats, so it is important that the chip handle them efficiently.