Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Charging Project

Status
Not open for further replies.

Demis

Hey all. I am currently working on a university project involving charging a battery. First of all to say that I have very little knowledge of electronics in general (only the fundamentals).

So my situation is the following: I will be charging out a Lead acid battery of 6V or 12V and a capacity between 1.3Ah and 12Ah (I still haven't ordered it). I will need to charge this by using a basic motor configuration. I am not confident that I know for sure what to do to put this circuit together. I looked through other threads and forums and I collected some information already: I will need a diode to avoid the battery actually powering the motor in low RPM values (when motor output voltage less than battery voltage), my supervisor told me I MAY need a charging filter (could anyone please explain me the role of this and if necessary? ) and I also read about using a regulator which I suspect is similar to a 'charging filter' (I am not sure). It is also important to mention that the source of rotation of the motor is NOT STABLE and so there will be a varying motor RPM.

So what I have now in mind is that on the one end will be the rotating motor connected to the battery by wires and a diode between them to avoid power flowing backwards.