Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Charging a Cell Phone Battery

Status
Not open for further replies.

AHAB99

Hi i'm a Student and i'm working on a school project, my group and i had the brilliant idea of creating something that could charge your phone without the outlet, however we have ran into many problems and are now looking to use a DC motor to charge a cell phone battery

Mainly it'd just be nice to know first off if this is possible i know we would need a diode to keep the current flowing one way and a motor to produce more than 3.7V, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Keep away from Lithium batteries until you learn about their hazzards:
1) They catch on fire and burn fiercely if they have too much charging current, too much charging voltage or too much discharge current.
2) The charger must detect that the battery is fully charged then it must turn off.
3) The battery must not be discharged too low or it might catch fire if charged and it might never charge again.

You did not mention regulating the charging current and charging voltage.
You did not mention using a charging circuit designed for the lithium battery size and voltage.
You did not mention shutting the charger off when it detects a full charge.
You did not mention the charger detecting that a battery is discharged too low and limiting the current until the voltage slowly rises to a normal level.