Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Cascode BJT circut

Status
Not open for further replies.

electricslim

hello, i am new to electronics and i am having trouble trying to calculate the mid-band voltage gain vo/vi and the lower and uppper -3 dB frequencies for this circuit, when i do the small signal para's and use the ac model, i cant get any reasonable values to come out.

i figure out the q-points to be
Vce1 = 4.6V Ic1 = 1.011mA
Vce2 = 4.98V Ic2 = 1.0043mA

Attachments

• cascode.JPG
    cascode.JPG
    79.9 KB · Views: 2,670
Midband gain is 200

Lower cut off is 1.06Hz. Upper cut off is 909MHz.

How close is that?

Your Q points are similar to what I have.

Please let me know

Thanks
I think your midband gain is too high.
Av≈(Rc||RL)/re1, where re1≈.026/Ie1. Ignoring the small attenuation caused by Rs, this comes out to be about 128.

I don't know what Cπ and Cµ represent. Your 909MHz upper cutoff frequency would require that Ccb2≈53femptofarads. That ain't gonna happen.:D

Last edited:
I got my midband voltage gain to be -128

I cant figure out how to do the lower and upper -3dB's, i am not sure what the equivalent circuit should look like, do i then just do the time constant method to find them?

I can find several references showing an equivalent circuit, such as:

Cascode - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

**broken link removed**

Some are for a FET cascode, but that's easy to change, and you will probably have to add a bypassed emitter resistor for the bottom transistor.