Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Cascading LM3914 Bar/Dot displays

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wannabe EE

Greetings everyone! This is my first post. I have questions about cascading LM3914 Bar/Dot drivers.

First, it may help for you to know a little about my background....

I am a Mechanical Engineer, but I have dabbled quite a bit in electronics. I know and understand the very basics like ohms law, and I have some knowledge of more advanced concepts as well. What I have found is that I have gaps in my understanding of many intermediate concepts.

Years ago, I worked with a friend to develop a 8052 based engine gauge for homebuilt aircraft. I did much of the programming (with a compiled BASIC), PCB layout and made the Gerber files (the hard way from AutoCAD layout), assembled and tested the prototypes.

I am also a skilled machinist and have retrofitted an obsolete CNC Bridgeport with a Windoze based system. I designed and built my own BreakOut Board to interface between the computer and machine.

Much of what I do in my consulting business involves PCB layout and prototype assembly of a few ATTINY based circuits. My programming skills are rudimentary so "C", Assembly, and writing ISRs is beyond by capabilities.

I find it is easier to make things with discrete logic ICs than to learn how to program. Many things I find I want to do, require fairly advanced programming skill. I have had others do the difficult programming for me.