Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Car Window Auto Drop & Raise

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paulusx2

Hi, total newbie to this site - hoping that I can get some assistance with a device I'm trying to put together.

Modern convertible vehicles have a device that drops the window 10mm when you open the door and raises it to the seal when you close it. I own an older convertible car which does not have this capability and therefore, the windows don't always seal correctly. When I was much younger I used to make simple electronic gadgets therefore, I thought I'd make a 'window drop module'.

Attached is the schematic that I have designed - I'm sure it's not very elegant so please be gentle..... I have tried to simulate the design on easyEDA but it doesn't appear to work. Before I blew the dust off my breadboard and invested in components I thought I'd try out this site for help.

In short, my circuit is built around two 555 timer chips. The hope is that these will provide me with an output for a set duration upon triggering. Presets R1 & R2 would be used to fine tune these durations.

The 555 on the left (labelled IC2) controls the drop of the window. When the existing door switch (used to switch the internal lights) closes it goes to ground triggering the 555 to provide an output to relays 2 & 4 for 0.5 seconds. This will be long enough for the window to drop approx 10mm.