Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

caps

Status
Not open for further replies.

jtourangeau

i am a low voltage tech looking maybe to make the jump to high-volt tech.ok....im a cable guy.... any hoo. im am a guitar player and fancy vintage equip for reasons of piont to piont hand wiring and tonal qualities.i currently have an amp i'm trying to "restore"/ make work.ive taken it apart and noticed blisters on the face of one "cap" and the main tranformer is leaking oil.the amp in question is a music man rd 100 i belive to be late 70's early 80's.im pretty sure the cap could use replacement.not sure on the xformer.the amp "works" but sounds like crap under a good "load".if i replace the cap,how do i drain the bad one.i have a feeling there is energy stored in it but am not dumb enough to put my toung on it to find out how much.i do know how to use a volt ohm meter to find out how much v/a is in it .i am not sure how to properly drain it.definantly dont want to use a rubber glove and scewdriver,as i would like to use/fix this thing....yes i found you with google,yes i did read the "newb" page.so....i did read 10 peoples version of OHMs law.... i understood it to be E=I/R. but im no pro. thanks for any help....im sure ill take a good beating judging by the noob page. jt