Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Capacitor charging lineair when using it as an integrator in an opamp setup.

Status
Not open for further replies.

pivu0

Dear people of Electro Tech,

I study Engineering in Belgium, and I'm studying for my Electronic exam for in a few weeks.
While I was reading about the integrator setup using opamps, I found something that I have trouble to understand.
This is the setup:

**broken link removed**

I know when you have a capacitor in serie with a resistor, you have the differential equation : V = q/C + R*dq/dt, when solved yields Vc = V*(1-e^-t/RC).

However, the capacitor charges up lineair when a constant Voltage is applied at Vi in the setup above. Does it not stand in series with the resistor, as there should flow no current into the opamp?

Thank for reading,

pivu0

Last edited:
Hello there,

The capacitor is not really in series with the resistor. The capacitor is in the feedback path and the resistor is in the input path.
Thus we end up with i=Vin/R, and Vo=-(1/C)*Intg i dt. The same i flows in input and feedback. Thus we integrate Vin/RC and that's just a a constant.

The solution works out not to a capacitor charged by a resistor, but a capacitor charged by a constant current who's current is Vin/R. We end up with the solution Vo= -Vin*t/(R*C). That's why it's a linear charge curve (ramp).

Try this again and see how you make out.

Last edited:
Thanks for the reply!