Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Can't get FM transmitter to work

Status
Not open for further replies.

cizzi

I've purchased the components to build this:

**broken link removed**

And I can't seem to tune into a frequency in the lower 88mhz area or any other. I did it on a big breadboard to make it clearer as the first attempt failed as well.

What can else can I try to debug the problem? I'm a novice in elecronics.

Thanks.

I've purchased the components to build this:

**broken link removed**

And I can't seem to tune into a frequency in the lower 88mhz area or any other. I did it on a big breadboard to make it clearer as the first attempt failed as well.

What can else can I try to debug the problem? I'm a novice in elecronics.

Thanks.

You can't make VHF circuits on a breadboard, layout is critical, it must also be small and neat - making it larger will prevent it working as well.

When testing mini FM transmitters have the radio volume high and keep the transmitter mic close to the radio speaker. You will get a feedback squeel when you are near to frequency.

The circuit you are making uses an electret, it may not work if wired the wrong way around to try tuning the radio to near a weak station and tune your transmitter untill the weak station goes dead quiet. If you can do this you are transmitting and the radio is recieving the carrier, but there is no sound due to the mic.

BTW the next highest failure for this type of project (after layout) is incorrectly wound coils.